Change location

You are about to change the origin location from where you are visiting

*The location of origin is defined in your browser settings and may not be identical with your citizenship and/or your domicile.


Our Board of Directors. Its responsibilities.

Our Board of Directors is responsible for the overall direction, supervision, and control of Credit Suisse Group AG.

The internal organization and responsibilities of the Board of Directors are outlined in the Board of Directors Charter (PDF).

The code of conduct provides a clear approach for how we expect all members of the Board of Directors and employees to conduct themselves. Only by operating within this framework can we maintain and strengthen our reputation for integrity, fair dealing and measured risk-taking.

Our client-focused, capital-efficient strategy is designed to help realize this ambition and is reinforced by our principles of being a proactive, principled partner to our clients.

Board of Directors of Credit Suisse Group AG

The composition of the Board of Directors of Credit Suisse is the same as the composition of the Board of Directors of Credit Suisse Group.


Name Born Citizenship Function
Urs Rohner 1) 5) 1959 Switzerland Chairman
Iris Bohnet 2) 1966 Switzerland  
Christian Gellerstad 1) 2) 5) 1968 Switzerland and Sweden Chairman Conduct and Financial Crime Control Committee
Andreas Gottschling 1) 3) 4) 1967 Germany Chairman Risk Committee
Michael Klein 2) 4) 1963 USA  
Shan Li 4) 1963 China  
Seraina Macia 4) 1968 Switzerland, Australia and USA  
Richard Meddings 1) 3) 4) 5) 1958 Great Britain Chairman Audit Committee
Kai S. Nargolwala 1) 2) 5) 1950 Singapore Chairman Compensation Committee
Ana Paula Pessoa 3) 5) 1967 Brazil  
Joaquin J. Ribeiro 3) 1956 USA  
Severin Schwan 1) 4) 1967 Austria, Germany and Switzerland Vice-Chair and Lead Independent Director
John Tiner 3) 1957 Great Britain  

1) Member of the Governance and Nominations Committee, chaired by Urs Rohner
2) Member of the Compensation Committee, chaired by Kai S. Nargolwala
3) Member of the Audit Committee, chaired by Richard Meddings
4) Member of the Risk Committee, chaired by Andreas Gottschling
5) Member of the Conduct and Financial Crime Control Committee, chaired by Christian Gellerstad

The Board of Directors has five standing committees: the Governance and Nominations Committeethe Audit Committeethe Compensation Committeethe Conduct and Financial Crime Control Committee  and the Risk Committee. The Committee members are each appointed for a term of one year.

Honorary Chairman
Rainer E. Gut, Born 1932 – Swiss citizen

Corporate Secretary
Joan E. Belzer