General Information

SEPA - Overview

SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area): Creation of a Standardized Euro Payments Zone

Launch of SEPA

The Single Euro Payments Area ( SEPA ) commenced in Europe on January 28, 2008, with the introduction of the SEPA Credit Transfer (euro transfers). As a Credit Suisse client, you automatically benefit from SEPA , wenn if you comply with the SEPA standards for your euro payments within the EU / EEA region . The SEPA standards are as follows:

  • EUR transactions in EU / EEA countries
  • IBAN (International Bank Account Nr. ) of  the beneficiary
  • BIC (Bank Identifier Code) of the beneficiary bank
  • No payment routing specifications
  • No communications to the beneficiary bank
  • "Shared charges" option (Shared, SHA )

The main benefits of SEPA are lower prices, guaranteed maximum processing times, transparent charges, and crediting of the full transfer amount to the beneficiary.

The SEPA Zone

The SEPA Standards will be valid for euro payment transactions in and between the following countries: All EU countries, die EEA counties (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and Switzerland.

Further Information   

External Links

Financial institutions participating in the SEPA Credit Transfer Scheme European Payments Council .

Individual Solutions, Professional Advice

Your requirements for payment transaction solutions are as individual as your company. Call the Business Center at the toll-free number 0800 88 88 74* or complete the contact form . We will be pleased to advise you.

* Telephone calls can be recorded.

Secondary Content


Telephone 0800 88 88 74 (free of charge)*