Change location

You are about to change the origin location from where you are visiting

*The location of origin is defined in your browser settings and may not be identical with your citizenship and/or your domicile.

Choose Language
Deutsch Die Seite ist nicht verfügbar
Englische Startseite
Français Page indisponible
Page d'accueil en Francais
Italiano Pagina non disponibile
Home page di Italia

Asian Investment Conference 2021

Esther Duflo

Co-winner of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences; Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics, MIT

Esther Duflo

Esther Duflo is the Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). She is also Co-Founder and Co-Director of the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL). In her research, she seeks to understand the economic lives of the poor, with the aim to help design and evaluate social policies. She has worked on health, education, financial inclusion, environment, and governance.

Prof. Duflo is also Editor of the American Economic Review, a member of the National Academy of Sciences and Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy. With her husband, Abhijit Banerjee, she wrote Poor Economics: A Radical Rethinking of the Way to Fight Global Poverty, which won the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award in 2011 and has been translated into more than 17 languages. Prof. Duflo's newest book, co-authored by Mr. Banerjee, titled Good Economics for Hard Times, is on how economics can help us solve social and political problems of our day.

Prof. Duflo received degrees in History and Economics from Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris. She subsequently received a Ph.D. degree in Economics from MIT in 1999.

Prof. Duflo is the 2019 Nobel Prize in Economics recipient along with Mr. Banerjee and Michael Kremer. Prof. Duflo has received numerous academic honors and prizes, including the Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences (2015), the A.SK Social Science Award (2015), Infosys Prize (2014), the David N. Kershaw Award (2011), a John Bates Clark Medal (2010), and a MacArthur "Genius Grant" Fellowship (2009).