Articles & stories

Lichtsteiner and Embolo: Switzerland's Best Footballers

At the Swiss Football Awards 2015, the winners were honored in ten categories, including Credit Suisse Player of the Year. All the award-winners at a glance.

The Swiss Football Awards 2015 were presented on August 31 in Freienbach, Canton of Schwyz. The best individual players, as well as the best teams, goals, and performances of the year, were honored in the presence of prominent figures from the world of football. Of the ten categories, seven were open to public voting. Only in three categories (Save of the Year, Fair Play of the Year, and Referee Performance of the Year) did an expert jury choose the winners. There were three nominees in each category. 

The title of Credit Suisse Player of the Year - Men for the top member of the Swiss national team went to Stephan Lichtsteiner, who beat out Xherdan Shaqiri and Yann Sommer. A native of Central Switzerland, the experienced 31-year-old is one of the best wing-backs in the world and appeared for his club Juventus Turin in last season's Champions League final.

In the vote for Credit Suisse Rookie of the Year, Breel Embolo (FC Basel) prevailed over Yvan Mvogo (Young Boys Bern) and Cinzia Zehnder (SC Fribourg). The talented 18-year-old striker was called up to the Swiss national team for the first time in March, and set up the winning goal in the World Cup qualifying match against Lithuania. 

Ramona Bachmann (FC Rosengård ) was voted Credit Suisse Player of the Year - Women for the second time, having first won the award in 2009. She came ahead of Lia Wälti (Turbine Potsdam) and Caroline Abbé (Bayern Munich). With eight goals to her name, the 24-year-old striker made a key contribution to the team's first-ever qualification for the World Cup, and she was the only Swiss player to be selected for the all-star squad at the tournament in Canada.

All the Categories and Award-Winners at a Glance:

  • Credit Suisse Player of the Year – Men: Stephan Lichtsteiner 
  • Credit Suisse Player of the Year – Women: Ramona Bachmann  
  • Würth Swiss Cup Team of the Year: FC Sion
  • Coach of the Year: Martina Voss-Tecklenburg
  • Most Important Goal of the Year: Xherdan Shaqiri
  • Credit Suisse Rookie of the Year: Breel Embolo
  • Save of the Year: Germano Vailati (FC Basel)
  • Fair Play of the Year:  Women: FC Weinfelden-Bürglen, Men: FC Lungern
  • Referee Performance of the Year: Nikolaj Hänni 
  • Coolest Goal of the Year: Christoph Catillaz (SC Düdingen, A Juniors)