Crowning the champions at the Credit Suisse Sports Awards
Articles & stories

Crowning the champions at the Credit Suisse Sports Awards

Will Roger Federer win his eighth Sportsman of the Year? Will Wendy Holdener win a second Sportswoman of the Year? On December 9, the TV audience will decide who takes the crown at the 2018 Credit Suisse Sports Awards. The ceremony celebrates the nominees at the end of a fantastic year in sports.

An entire year of sports summed up in one evening. Slideshows to move you and tug at your heartstrings. We gather a who's who in the world of Swiss sports: the most successful athletes, coaches, sponsors, and sports celebrities. This describes the long-running Credit Suisse Sports Awards, scheduled for Sunday, December 9, at the studios of Swiss Radio and Television (SRF).

As usual, the gala of sports talent will be broadcast to every corner of the nation on the three TV channels of SRF 1, RTS Deux, and RSI LA 2. The exciting feature of the show is that the audience at home can call in to vote for their favorite candidates for Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year. The selection is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat!

Federer for the eighth time?

In years when the Olympics are held, it only seems natural to bestow the award on an Olympic medalist. Ski racer Michelle Gisin and cross-country skier Dario Cologna are two worthy candidates. Cologna, the Swiss Sportsman of the Year in 2013, seems predestined to win. The native of Graubünden put on another brilliant performance at the Olympics, winning his fourth gold medal in Pyeongchang. 

Whether Cologna or the others in the final group, two-time alpine Olympic medalist Beat Feuz, world mountain biking champion and perennial victor Nino Schurter, world-class handball player Andi Schmid, or Olympic silver medal winner in slalom Ramon Zenhäusern will beat out Roger Federer will be determined on Sunday evening. The tennis champ added even more trophies to his collection in 2018. First and foremost, he won his 20th Grand Slam title in January at the Australian Open. He also climbed to the top of the world rankings once again, giving him a total of 310 weeks on the list. He won his 99th singles championship at the Swiss Indoors in Basel. With those impressive accomplishments, he has racked up even more records. If Federer is chosen as Sportsman of the Year, it will distinguish him from the other honorees in this area. He has taken home the award seven times already since 2003, most recently last year.

Gisin, Sprunger, or Ryf?

We may see the continuation of a winning streak among the women as well. That is because Michelle Gisin has a good chance of taking home the award four years after her sister, Dominique, did the same – as the third female alpine skier in a row.

If she does, it would not be for lack of tough competition. Another top candidate in the running is Switzerland's first female European track and field champion, Lea Sprunger. Hailing from the canton of Vaud, she pulled off an amazing feat by winning the race that earned her the gold medal in Berlin. Next is triathlete Daniela Ryf, who went the entire year undefeated. The high point of her accomplishments was the fourth triumph in a row at the Ironman competition in October in Hawaii, even setting a course record. Then there is last year's winner, Wendy Holdener. Another alpine skier, for Gisin, she represents a competitor from her own camp. Holdener won Olympic silver and bronze. Also in the final six is competitive rower Jeannine Gmelin and the third-place finisher at the World Indoor Championships and record-holder, Mujinga Kambundji.

Team, Coach, and Disabled Athlete of the Year 2018

The Credit Suisse Sports Awards also honor the Coach, Team, and Disabled Athlete of the Year. Nominated for the 2018 Team of the Year are the BSC Young Boys, the national ice hockey team, and the Swiss alpine skiing team. Candidates for Disabled Athlete of the Year are last year's winner Marcel Hug (track and field), Théo Gmür (alpine skiing), and Manuela Schär (track and field). Among the coaches, Bruno Diethelm (mountain biking), Patrick Fischer (ice hockey), and Adi Hütter (football) have been nominated for the award. Votes for the best newcomer can be submitted for either Jérémey Desplanches (swimming), Marc Hirschi (cycling), or Julien Wanders (track and field) until December 4 at